ALDE - Team Europe

In resistance to the Spitzenkandidaten system backed by the two largest parties in the European Parliament (EPP and S&D), the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) has decided not to put forward a single lead candidate, but instead proposes a list of seven contenders. Reasons for this mainly revolve around ALDE’s increasingly strong cooperation with Macron, whose party “La République en Marche!” will likely be seated within the liberal political group. Macron has fiercely resisted the Parliament’s Spitzenkandidat system, as he disagrees with contenders being chosen before voters go to the polls. As a result, the candidates on the list are not merely the party’s lead candidates for Commission President, but rather represent ALDE’s nominees for any of the top EU roles that will become available after the European elections. They include:

  • Margrethe Verstager (Denmark) – Current European Commissioner for Competition

  • Guy Verhofstadt (Belgium) – Member of the European Parliament, Leader of the ALDE Group and the Parliament’s Brexit Coordinator

  • Emma Bonino (Italy) – Senator of Rome and top candidate of the Piu Europa party for the European Elections

  • Nicola Beer (Germany) – Secretary General and leading candidate of the FDP Party for the European Elections

  • Violeta Bulc (Slovenia) – Current European Commissioner for Mobility and Transport

  • Katalin Cseh (Hungary) – Doctor in obstetrics and gynaecology, lead candidate of the Momentum Party for the European Elections  

  • Luis Garicano (Spain) Professor of Economics and Strategy, leading candidate of Ciudadanos  for the European Elections 

Key policy priorities:

  1. A single Brussels-based seat for the European Parliament and a revaluation and renegotiation of the competences between the EU and Member States.

  2. The support of international cooperation on the environment to meet the Paris Agreement and to set ambitious future targets backing moves to foster research and development in technologies.

  3. To reinforce the Single Market in the digital sector.

  4. The promotion of self-driving vehicles on EU roads and greater investment in cross-border and sustainable infrastructure.

  5. The promotion of free trade underpinned by a strong WTO.

  6. More investment in education, research and innovation to produce a smarter workforce for the future.

  7. Cross-border recognition of certificates promoting labour mobility to fight unemployment and increase EU’s competitiveness.

  8. A new EU asylum and migration system that fits for purpose based on a long-term vision.

  9. Fight against hybrid international and geopolitical threats.